make it happen! or ‘ask and you shall receive’

Forgive me from my brief absence from writing. I have been dying to write this post for a few days now, however I have also been fighting a pesky cold that just won’t seem to go away! Hoping to kick it by the end of this week…

The expression ‘ask and you shall receive’ has a lot of truth to it.  In honor of my first sale in my etsy shop (once I figure out how I’ll have button linking my blog to my shop, another goal!) last week I thought I’d share some thoughts on how we can make things happen by being open to the experience. Starting a shop on etsy filled with handmade goodies was one of my big goals for this year. This goal is another baby step toward my big vision. It was also one I thought I might not get to with thesis writing, wedding planning, and job hunting. However, on November 4, 2011 I launched my shop into cyber space. Everyday I checked my stats, added new items, watched as people added my products to their favorites list, but sadly no one purchased anything. This was a little disheartening… I know that it often takes time to get this sort of thing off the ground, however I couldn’t help but feel slightly disappointed.

Last Wednesday, I began to wonder if perhaps I was clinging too tightly to my dreams. Maybe I needed to let go a little and just let whatever was meant to happen, happen. That night as I lay in bed, slowly drifting off to sleep I took myself through a short meditation. I pictured my store as a brick and mortar space filled with customers, all who enjoyed being in the space and loved my stuff. With each inhalation, I imagined more customers coming in, each making a purchase. I was drawing customers toward me with each breath! As I exhaled, I allowed my body to soften and for myself to be content with where I was. I don’t know when exactly I fell asleep, but when I woke up the next morning I felt completely refreshed  and had forgotten about my meditation. I didn’t remember it until later that afternoon when my first shop sale – the necklace above – popped up on my iphone. While it was only one sale, this sale covers both my listing and advertising fees for the month. More importantly though, it gives me the courage to continue on this journey.

I think there something to be said for having goals and being able to let them go. So much of the time, we cling desperately to our wants and desires that we become frustrated and unhappy which draws negativity toward us. When we ask the universe for what we desire, step back, and allow it to happen it usually does. It is the act of remaining open and positive that draws what we want to us. Yet, be forewarned it doesn’t always happen the way that we might expect it to. The point is to ask and be open.

This isn’t the first time I have experienced this phenomenon. I have noticed it with my love life, friendships, job opportunities, and more! The challenge is to remember to move yourself into an open and positive state, even if your not feeling it. If this is a topic your experience this topic more in-depth there’s a lot of literature out there. The Secret by Rhonda Brynes is one of the most well known sources. Brooke Baker did a really great blog post on this topic last week in relation to her love life. Reflecting on your own experience can also be a great teacher. How do you move through frustration to achieve your dreams?

Leave a Reply

