setting SMART goal for 2012: goal setting part 2

Apologies for not getting this up yesterday. I had one of the best deep tissue massages I’ve had in years yesterday afternoon! However, I was feeling pretty loopy afterwards – not ideal for writing a post about setting grounded goals.

A lot of times we think were setting goals when in reality were simply rattling off a list of wishes and desires. For example in 2012…”I want to lose weight” or “I will buy house.” While these things may positively impact your life without having an understanding of why we want to achieve them and/or a plan of action, they simply remain wishes and desires. For setting very concrete goals, my preference is to use the SMART framework.
Specific – What objective am I trying to achieve..? What outcome am I looking for SPECIFICALLY..?
Measurable – How do I know I am making progress toward this objective..? What are quantifiable ways can I measure my progress..?
Achievable – What resources do I need to have in place..? Are these resources presently available..?
Relevant – Why am I working toward this objective..? How will this achievement positively impact my life..? How does this objective align with my values..?
Time-based – By what date will this objective be completed..?
To further clarify this process, let’s plug my Big Vision in to the framework. If I were to say, “I’m going to create my big vision in 2012” this would be more a wish than a goal. Yes, by throwing the “2012” in there it becomes time-based, but I have no clear plan of action as to how or why I am going to do it. A better way to phrase this goal would be, “I am going to create a business plan for my big vision in 2012.” This indicates a very specific plan of action.
Specific – Create a business plan for my big vision
Measurable – Breakdown the overwhelming task by dividing the business plan into sections i.e. company vision and values, marketing etc. and tackle one section at a time. Set aside 2 hours (does not have to be consecutively) every week to work on this project. Pencil this time into my planner. Each week review what sections have been completed and set plan for following week. If I do put in the time each week, ask myself “what got in the way..?”
Achievable – TIME!! This is the biggest resource currently standing in my way. Eventually to build a business I’ll require capital and labor, but creating a plan only requires time. Right now I am only working part-time, so I have time and energy to focus on this project
Relevant – This is my dream job and life mission. I HAVE NEVER BEEN MORE EXCITED ABOUT ANYTHING!!
Time- based – This project will be completed by the end of 2012 sets a definite deadline.
A few helpful tips:
  • If you’re having a tough time getting started with plugging your goals into the SMART framework, try brainstorming a list of your goals. Write down whatever comes to mind about each goal as you brainstorm and then see where it fits on the SMART chart
  • If you’re more of a left-brainer than a right-brain type you may what to do this step prior to creating your vision for 2012.  I still encourage you to create a vision board though. This will help with accountability, which I’ll discuss in a future post.
  • There is no right or wrong way to complete this process. These are merely suggestions to help you along the way. The best way is to find your way!

Happy Goal Setting! What are some of your goals..? Feel free to share them in the comment section (also helps with accountability!)

Leave a Reply

