edge of glory: personal mantras in yoga and life

“I’m on the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment of truth”

                                                         Lady Gaga

In my yoga classes this week, I have been playing with the concept of mantras during centering and savasana. The modern concept of a mantra (or affirmation) is a positive statement said in the present tense. Generally, it is a quality you wish to integrate into your life. A popular one in yoga classes might be “I am at peace”. The power of the mantra is believed to help quiet the mind. 

To create a mantra, I have students select a word, phrase, or prayer if they’re more spiritually inclined. Ideally this not more than a few words, so it is easy to repeat silently to themselves. This statement should be uplifting and inspiring. During savasana I encourage students to take their mantra off the mat and out into the world with them. Mantras are fluid and should change or be replaced with something new when they no longer serve you.

Recently, I have been feeling connected to Lady Gaga’s “Edge of Glory” and have adopted the phrase “I’m at the edge of glory, and I’m hanging on a moment of truth” as my own personal mantra. I truly believe 2012 is going to be a changing year for me in terms of career and feel as though I am on the edge of all of that right now. This mantra inspires me to keep moving forward.

What’s your personal mantra..? How does it inspire you..?

 

Leave a Reply

